fbpx

Does It Hurt?

A Dialog to Help You Understand and Trust Acupuncture
Does It Hurt? A Dialog to Help You Understand and Trust Acupuncture. An introductory book on acupuncture.

 

Paperback: $9.95
Kindle: $6.95

Available at your favorite book retailer, including:

Buy on IndieBound Buy on Barnes & Noble Buy on Amazon

Get the answers you need to feel informed and confident in the proven health benefits of acupuncture.

Acupuncture is rapidly gaining acceptance in the modern medical world. The Department of Veterans Affairs now hires acupuncturists. There are thousands of private practices throughout the U.S., and even insurance coverage for treatment in some states. Acupuncture is most commonly known as an alternative treatment for pain, but it can also help with a wide range of conditions like depression, anxiety, digestion, infertility, and more.

In Does It Hurt?, Licensed Acupuncturist Burton Moomaw guides you through an introduction to acupuncture by answering the eight most commonly asked questions he receives from his patients, those considering acupuncture for the first time, and the simply curious. He includes medical theory and case studies, informative photos and illustrations, and a glossary and index.

There are many acupuncture texts from the classics to modern writings, but we’ve long needed this slender and accessible volume for patients looking for an introduction to the concepts and context of acupuncture. Burton has answered his patients’ questions from his years of clinical experience with grace and personality. The result is a real contribution to our field. I’m delighted to have this very readable book to recommend to the general public interested in our healing art.”
—Ann Cecil-Sterman, Author, Advanced Acupuncture, a Clinic Manual

booklife reviewMoomaw, a licensed acupuncturist, effectively demystifies acupuncture in this beautifully presented and informative debut. He gives detailed responses to eight common questions about acupuncture, including “Does it hurt?”, “Does it work?”, and “What health problems does it treat?”, and explains how hair-thin needles, inserted into the skin and muscles, manipulate the body’s chi (energy) flow. For those still intimidated by acupuncture, Moomaw briefly introduces other common Chinese medical treatments. He also discusses how imbalances in the body can affect health, and analyzes some of the contrasts between Chinese medicine’s qualitative science and whole-body-approach and Western medicine’s quantitative science and treatments based mainly on pharmacology and surgery.

Moomaw’s organized and succinct writing make this a comprehensive look at the practice of acupuncture as well as Chinese medicine’s other energy-focused treatments. He fairly portrays the strengths and weaknesses of Chinese and Western medical systems, encouraging readers to make informed judgments on their options for medical treatments. Straightforward language and the use of highway metaphors to describe the interconnectedness of the body’s energy meridians make it easier to understand and visualize the flow of the chi.

The crisp photographs clarify the descriptions in the text, showing how fine an acupuncture needle is, how it’s inserted, and where the energy channels are located in the body. The images in the book are monochrome, but Moomaw helpfully provides a link to view the same images in full color. Diagrams and charts such as the map of the tongue and how the five elements relate to various organs help readers understand the body’s relationship to chi and how acupuncture can affect it. Successfully educating readers about acupuncture and Chinese energetic medicine, this book will also stimulate discussion of medical treatment options and is an excellent starting point for further research.

Takeaway: This is a perfect introduction to acupuncture and Chinese medicine for the curious newcomer.

Great for fans of Andrew Weil’s Spontaneous Healing, Steven Cordoza’s Chinese Holistic Medicine in Your Daily Life.

Production grades
Cover: A
Design and typography: A
Illustrations: A
Editing: A
Marketing copy: A

 

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Introduction
Chapter 1 Does It Hurt?
Chapter 2 Where Will You Put the Needles?
Chapter 3 Does It Work?
Chapter 4 How Does Acupuncture Work?
Chapter 5 What Health Problems Can It Treat?
Chapter 6 How Many Treatments Will It Take?
Chapter 7 Do I Have to be on a Special Diet?
Chapter 8 How Do I Find an Acupuncturist?
Conclusion
Glossary
Index

Website by FullSteam Labs